PDA

View Full Version : need advice

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

kojindo
4/29/2004 9:17am,
Hey all,

Have a bout coming up in about a month. I know the dude hates my guts and would love to pound the ever living **** out of me ( something about his ex ).

I've been practising ju jitsu for about 18 years, and started arnis and tong long about 2 years ago.

He has been doing BJJ and wing chun for about 5 years.

I am 5'8", 150 pounds.

He's about 5'10", 176 pounds. Mostly flab but he definately has the strength advantage.

Any tips? Hoping to use his emotions to my advantage if I can.

Colin
4/29/2004 9:31am,
Tips? Call the fight off, dude.
If you have ground experince - great. If not, well.. ??????

put it this way: Strength advantage + Ground advatage = BIG advantage.

SLJ
4/29/2004 9:32am,
Work a lot on takedowns, getting top posistion, and striking from it.

Don't be suprised if he catches you in a sub.

Good luck.

PS. He's thrown you a lifeline by doing WC.

kojindo
4/29/2004 9:38am,
The ju jitsu allows me to hold my own on the ground, but I prefer not to go there if I can help it. Prefer fast hand techniques. The tong long vs wing chun should be interesting though.

SLJ
4/29/2004 9:45am,
have you grappled a BJJ guy before ?

Are you exceptional at takedown defense ?

OneWingedAngel
4/29/2004 9:50am,
Is this a bout like in a tournament, or a "bout" like you huys are going out back and throwing down? Cause either way, I and, likely, everyone would love to see some video.

As for tips? Uh, well, I guess, try not to go to the ground. Hope that helps.

Colin
4/29/2004 9:50am,