PDA

View Full Version : Striker's Misconceptions

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

BDKFBJJ
4/22/2004 8:14am,
I just wanted to put this out there. Now keep in mind, to those who have done BJJ for awhile, this is no big news, but this is aimed more at the strikers. I have been doing martial arts for about 12 years, but BJJ for only a couple of months and I have figured out a few things. The vast majority of the anti-grappling doesn't work. Yes that...even that...certainly that...The swing the legs up and hook the person mounting you mount escape - nope. Groin grabs - nope. Eye gouges - nope. While mounted, attempting to grab the groin results in you not getting that hand back. Trying it while in the guard results in the other arm being used to choke the snot out of you. Eye gouge??? Reach up to do it - broken arm - try it in close - Kimura. Hooking him while throwing your legs up - usually just gives him more stuff to lock or break. Hitting him on the way in as he shoots - not in a million years - there is a better chance of a pig wrapped in $100 bills falling from the sky and landing at your feet. I just thought if this came from someone with a striking background it may be a little easier for some to swallow. I will be the first to admit that many MMAers and BJJers have the sensitivity of chainsaw when it comes to sparing our traditional feelings. Just my 2 cents. Tear apart at will :)

Chupacabra
4/22/2004 8:17am,
Sold,

any good BJJ schools north of atl GA?

SLJ
4/22/2004 8:20am,
You're correct. It's pretty much common sense though.

PizDoff
4/22/2004 8:25am,
Hey, did anyone see Dan Henderson vs Renzo Gracie in Pride 13?

Kiozz
4/22/2004 8:29am,
Over 10 years ago: strikers need to learn grappling
after 2 years: grapplers need to learn striking

Welcome to 2004 BDKFBJJ

Osu
4/22/2004 8:33am,
well...euhm...I would...euhm...Grappling is not allowed! :D

Muqatil
4/22/2004 8:33am,