PDA

View Full Version : Just thought I'd say hi.

Eladar
3/22/2012 1:34pm,
Hi,

I'm new to both this forum and MA in general.

I figure for the first while at least I'll most likely lurk an AWFUL lot more than post, but if I feel I can contribute, I'll sure give it a shot.

I train in Bujinkan, and yes, I've read a lot of the stuff about it on this site, but from knowing people that have trained at the school I now do, this definitely is a lot more "alive" than most of you seem to think.

Generally, we put in as much resistance as both parties are happy with (in some cases full resistance). Personally, the only time I will go with a lock, is if it feels like my arm will break if I resist further. This is an attitude shared by several in my dojo, and we all generally leave a bit bruised and battered after a session.

So yeah, like I said, just thought I'd throw myself into it and post.

As a question:

What are some absolute must read threads that aren't stickies? I've read all the stickies in the areas of the forum I can see myself participating in, but was just wondering if there was any extra key reading to really get a feel for the forums. I've been reading through a lot of older threads, especially those concerning Bujinkan already.

Cheers

Ben

SteveM
3/22/2012 1:43pm,
Welcome Ben!

"Aliveness" is not just about resistance, it's about both sides earnestly trying to win. So while you are resisting that wristlock, are you also using your other hand to punch the guy in the face? Gotta get out of that "Uke" mode to be "alive" IMHO.

Permalost
3/22/2012 1:48pm,
Welcome to Bullshido.

I train in Bujinkan, and yes, I've read a lot of the stuff about it on this site, but from knowing people that have trained at the school I now do, this definitely is a lot more "alive" than most of you seem to think.