PDA

View Full Version : A little help with direction?

thejon
3/20/2012 10:58am,
Hey all, I'm new here.

I'm all sorts of torn up. I want to train, but I'm having stupendous trouble finding something that fits what I want.

Background: ~1 year Shotokan when I was 10ish. About 2 weeks TKD with World Martial Arts before I realized what a joke that place was when I was about 18. About 2 years with Tracy's Karate (Kenpo) before I ran out of money for private training ($50 a week is hard)

I'm almost 30 years old, work a desk job but am basically "ok" fitness wise (about 160, about 5'8"), based in North County of St. Louis, MO.

I want a few things from my training. I need to see progress. I don't really care if that's from a belted system or a "now that you know x you can learn y" type, but I need to feel like the work I did 3 months ago matters. I'm training in large part for vanity, but I'm not looking for a belt factory. I want the ability to say I have a basic mastery over something, and I fully expect to work to get there.

I don't really enjoy ground work. I know it's fundamental to 'real' fighting, but I don't intend to 'real' fight. I'm almost 30. I live in a neighborhood where if I'm involved in something, I'm going to be shot, not hit. Look at my background; ground work is just not what I'm into.

I looked into Aikido. I tried 3 Rivers (Seagal system), but I felt "sold" there, the prices seemed to not make sense (there's a monthly fee, a yearly fee, a signup fee, a contract, and a uniform fee). I otherwise liked Aikido, aside from not really having a clear advancement path. But I suppose that's the nature of the system. I also tried a lesson with St. Louis Aikikai. I liked those guys a lot, except that they train Tuesdays and Thursdays, and I can't train either of those days.