PDA

View Full Version : Interesting anecdote about Rickson

Pages : [1] 2 3

capaloco
4/08/2004 3:01am,
I just found this in http://www.straightblastgym.com/gorillapress.html

--------------------------------------------------------

If there is one thing you can learn from Martial Arts, it is that you can never tell what a person knows simply by their size, demeanor, or physical appearance. Martial Arts is the ultimate "you can't judge a book by it's cover" lesson that only someone who has been thrashed and mashed by someone 6 inches shorter and 40 pounds lighter can appreciate. You only have to learn this lesson once, in order to carry it around with you forever.
My lesson came when I first met Rickson Gracie in 1988. At that time, I had been weight training very heavily, weighed a solid 220, and could bench press over 300lbs with ease. I had been training Kung Fu, Kickboxing, and FMA for several years and felt pretty good about myself. One day, a friend of mine told me about some "mexican guys named the Garcia brothers" who had a school in Torrance where they taught Jiu-Jitsu. He also said they were unbeatable. Curious, I decided to check them out.
When I walked into the tidy school I was greeted by one of the brothers named Rorian, and soon found that they weren't mexican but Brazilian, and there name was Gracie, not "Garcia". With a friendly nod, Rorian sized me up and said "You're a pretty big guy. I have a brother who just came from Brazil. You can train with him-as long as you promise not to hurt him." With a very grave nod, I agreed, secretly wondering how good these Gracie brothers could be if they were so worried about getting hurt. Rorian took me to a practice room and introduced me to a 5'9" 180lb guy with the funny name of "Rickson".