PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Ressurector!

Kenseido
7/28/2011 2:58am,
Hi mate,

I have been training in KenSeiDo for 8 years and am currently a 2nd degree black belt, my lineage goes back to Tokyo, Japan and have no affiliation to the U.S branch. I compete in full contact and point sparring in Japan and go there for my gradings. I completely understand that KenSeiDo can seem 'soft' against other styles such as MMA/BJJ/Kick Boxing, the problem lies with the training syllabus and techniques, KenSeiDo as a form is called Sogo Budo (hybrid/mixed style martial arts). It focuses on YonoWaza(striking and locking), InoWaza(locks and throws) and NeWaza (grappling). In theory it should compete competently against other styles, the problem is how it's being trained.

Our methodology of training is more combative than what you've been seeing on you tube, I was trained in a more aggressive dojo in Japan (as opposed to the passive like schools in the US) and that same training philosophy continues with our club in Sydney which has a high concentration of gym/dojos per capita. Our sessions are very physical and are about 3 hours long, starting from conditioning, renshu (both InoWaza/locks and YonoWaza/Strikes) Our YonoWaza is a hard style similar to Kyokushin and Kick Boxing and our InoWaza has influences of JuJutsu and Aikido.