PDA

View Full Version : Judo in Bergen County

Pages : [1] 2

TheFree87
7/18/2011 6:55pm,
Hi all, I am looking for a judo school in Bergen county. I saw a previous post that suggested Performance Judo in Fairlawn, and Tech Judo in Bergenfield. What do people think of these schools and do they have any other suggestions?

I would like to compete in Judo tournaments. What is the best way to go about that? (Fitness training, schools, actual tournaments, etc.)

I am 24 and in reasonable shape. I run a 5k every other day. I am a graduate student so I can train every day and my hours are somewhat flexible even though I do need to spend a lot of hours in school. I am highly motivated to the point of ridiculous stubbornness.

Thanks for giving some advice to a noob!

TheFree87
7/19/2011 9:08pm,
So I did my first day at this place http://www.kokushikai.com/ and it was awesome. We started off with ukemi; she taught me side break fall, back break fall and a rolling forward break fall. After that I learned osoto-gari and seio nage. I'm not sure if seio nage is that right name for that throw. Basically you lock your right elbow into their right armpit grabbing their shoulder, and then you drop down onto your knees pulling them forward over your shoulder.

My right shoulder is a bit sore, does anyone have any tips on not messing up my shoulder? Or any tips on doing osoto gari or seio nage?

BKR
7/19/2011 9:31pm,
Just keep going to class, you are in a very good place.

Ben

TheFree87
7/20/2011 8:48pm,
Went to my second day of classes and did randori. It was awesome; although I got my ass kicked by a yellow belt that was smaller and weaker than me. It was a humbling experience (I wasn't able to throw him once). So far my skills at Judo, newaza -sucks, randori - sucks, and ukemi - well I don't hurt myself that much when I get owned by other judoku although I wish I had a better idea what I was doing.