PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and a question

Demontom
6/17/2011 7:10am,
Hello, I'm Tom. I have no experience in the martial arts but it's always been something I've had a moderate interest in. A while back I got jumped walking home from work and I realized I really need to learn to defend myself better. Thankfully I didn't suffer any serious injuries, just a few bruises etc.

Onto my question; What would be a good striking style for me to begin with? I've read the sticky on how to find a good school, I just don't know what style to choose, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I realize it'll take awhile before the skills I learn will become applicable on the streets, I'm not looking for a magic fix. Thanks in advance.

Odacon
6/17/2011 7:17am,
Hello, I'm Tom. I have no experience in the martial arts but it's always been something I've had a moderate interest in. A while back I got jumped walking home from work and I realized I really need to learn to defend myself better. Thankfully I didn't suffer any serious injuries, just a few bruises etc.

Onto my question; What would be a good striking style for me to begin with? I've read the sticky on how to find a good school, I just don't know what style to choose, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I realize it'll take awhile before the skills I learn will become applicable on the streets, I'm not looking for a magic fix. Thanks in advance.

What places are available to you?

Ignorami
6/17/2011 7:18am,
Boxing.

• Cheap
• Readily available.
• A fairly narrow curriculum (excuse me boxers) means you'll be spending a lot of time training a few useful things.
• Will get you fit and strong (Easily as important as technique, despite what us Aikidoka claim)
• You'll get used to being hit in the head (one of the best self defence attributes ever invented)