PDA

View Full Version : Hi...

jgarland
4/28/2011 9:41pm,
Hello, I'm a noob, as you all know from the pacifier-sucking smileys above my post (we call pacificiers dummies in Australia). Actually when I first visited this website and saw the n00b posts I thought "Hey, that's a really cool line to put above your posts, this person must have a great sense of humour". My next brilliant deduction was "The person with the N00b symbol above his posts seems to comment in threads a lot, and the other posters seem to think he's full of **** and keep flaming him". My final, groundbreaking realisation went like this: "This n00b guy keeps posting under different names and with different writing styles... oh... wait... *extra hard face palm*"

So with a bruised forehead and and an ego to match, I thought I'd introduce myself. I am quite new to martial arts, with a years 'experience' at a mcdojo that scared me away from martial arts until I did some decent karate for a year before I started Muay Thai about a year ago. I'm loving it and I'm hoping to continue to improve.

I incidently stumbled across a book on Kung Fu, that was published in 1977, by David Chow and Richard Spangler in a joint effort with Warner Bros. (that should be the first sign of BS), for those fans of the Kung Fu series who wanted to learn to kick ass like Carradine (or have their asses handed to them by their 8 year old sister, rather). It dedicates over 30 pages to the special techniques/powers/magic/spider senses that were written out in the ancient shaolin text by Wu Toy San Ling Qung, for the dedicated to learn and master. With techniques ranging from killing people by pointing at them, to shrinking your testicles at will, I thought it might be a good enough article to publish quotes from in the forums if someone hasn't already.