PDA

View Full Version : Another introduction...

pamcash
4/12/2011 12:45am,
Hello there, I'm a 29 year old female based in SoCal who, for personal and professional reasons, needs to learn how to be a badass. This seems like a great forum, because 1. I have zero experience, 2. I'm an idiot and have no idea what I'm doing, and 3. You know what's good and can help me find something good. Mainly interested in disarmament and other things that a single female traveling alone would need.

Colin
4/12/2011 12:52am,
Disarmament is something that you'll specifically find in SD (self-defense) though, many of the arts that focus on self defense rather than sports combat, (Aikido, Krav Maga, BBT etc..) are trained in such a fashion that translates rather poorly to realistic combat situations.

For this reason, Martial Arts that focus on sports competition typically translate better into real life, and although very few competitive martial arts actually use weapons (Fencing, Kendo) I would personally suggest that you're going to learn how to better cope with the dangerous reality of violence by focusing on a combat sport.

(boxing, judo, muay thai, etc..)

pamcash
4/12/2011 4:36pm,
Thank you so much for your reply!

Permalost
4/12/2011 5:00pm,
Welcome to the forum. Where in SoCal are you? Good schools abound. However, taking away weapons from real armed men is a tall task for anyone, trained or not.

Colin
4/13/2011 11:09am,
Mainly interested in disarmament and other things that a single female traveling alone would need.

Clearly, you need a Giant 31 y/o Australian man with a spectacular beard to play bodyguard.

Tonuzaba
4/14/2011 5:32am,
...Mainly interested in disarmament and other things that a single female traveling alone would need.
Hello and welcome to the best martial arts website.