PDA

View Full Version : Gi and No-Gi BJJ

Pages : [1] 2

The Deliverator
4/04/2011 5:53pm,
I know this is going to be a very noobish question and one that has been asked many times before so first off I give permission for you all to troll me. I have already searched threads and done research on the internetz so this is not going to be the standard either/or question on Gi vs. No-Gi training in BJJ. My research tells me that both are good for different purposes and emphases.

I'm a total noob to grappling who's been taking BJJ classes 3 times per week for the past month. I'm at an MMA gym where the BJJ class we have is no Gi only. I am finding myself getting very addicted to the Jiu-Jitsu and really want to maximize my time spent training. I really like my current gym and am going to keep training there for Boxing at minimum.

So my question is this: how beneficial would it be for me to start doing some Gi BJJ at another gym now? I'm not looking for shortcuts, I'm basically just wondering how much it would help my current training and skill development or if just sticking with no Gi is fine. I can afford training at another place as well but I'm certainly looking for cost/benefit suggestions here as well because I obviously don't want to waste money.

I hope this is not too stupid of a question. <puts on asbestos flame gear>

PointyShinyBurn
4/04/2011 6:00pm,
Is the Gi BJJ place on days your current gym doesn't have classes? If so, it's a total no brainer, more training = more better at the strangling.

If you're thinking about doing gi instead of some no-gi it's going to depend partly on what your goals are (sport BJJ, grappling, MMA, street fighting?) and partly on how you find the instruction at each gym. Have you tried a class at the other place? Do that before you go deciding stuff.

sweats
4/04/2011 6:07pm,