PDA

View Full Version : The wrist

billybudd
2/19/2011 2:46am,
Short question: When is it ok the bend the wrist?

If I throw a punch and, at the last second, I notice that the smaller knuckles or the fingers are going to make contact first, should I bend the wrist?

And also, what's your advise to a complete beginner practicing without wraps on keeping his wrist straight?

billybudd
2/19/2011 3:22am,
Also, when blocking a punch or kick, how fragile is the wrist?

How much importance should I place on avoiding a direct blow to the wrist, or is that a good part of the arm to try to parry with?

JordanT
2/19/2011 4:14am,
It sounds like you're about to get hurt.

gregaquaman
2/19/2011 4:15am,
dont bend the wrist when punching.If you are punching with your small knuckles you are bending your wrist.
Try this experiment. (I hope this explanation makes sense.) rotate your hand so that your thumb is making an ark. Look at your hand hopefully you will notice that your index finger moves the least. This is because the rotation naturally alligns the wrist. If you then made a fist without moving your wrist now your top knuckles are forward.

Practice with raps why damage your hand in training.

I assume you mean some sort of Karate style block? use your forearm and only block high kicks with your arms.

billybudd
2/19/2011 4:37am,
I nailed a scarf to my bedroom ceiling and tied a light ball about chin height to it as an amusing way to exercise. Depending on where it bounces to, I either hit with an odd part of my hand or don't hit. I haven't been rotating my arm much, though. I'll practice this!

And for the blocking, forearms seem to be used a lot to block strikes. But I'm curious, without the padded gloves, what would happen if the attacker slightly altered his strike to land on the wrist?

gregaquaman
2/19/2011 4:57am,