PDA

View Full Version : …Senior Military Adviser to the Great Eastern Army

Pages : [1] 2

judoarmo
1/05/2011 12:45pm,
Although I've been a member for awhile, this is my first post. I think this is the right place to get to the bottom of this "mystery". This info comes from a thread at the Judo Forum. The Judo Forum thread regarding "O-Sensei" Kunin, became more a debate about what constitutes legitimacy rather than his credentials, so I'm curious if anyone has more info regarding his pedigree.

http://www.kunin-jj.org/o-sensei_kunin

This gentleman claims to be a 10th Dan in Judo, but does not specify an organization he lists Sensei Phil Porter, Toney Raven and John Denora as fellow 10th Dans, so I'm assuming his rank may be through Sensei Porter's organization, The USMAA. I've had some experience with Sensei Porter, when he began the USMAA he contacted me and offered me a Godan promotion to join, and pay the dues of course (I was a Shodan or NiDan at the time, and I did not take him up on his offer) Sensei Porter is indeed a talented Judoka, but as many have pointed out in prior posts the conclusion that he is selling rank seems well-founded.

I found the part about his traced lineage to a 9th century Japanese Shogun particularly interesting.

Rock Ape
1/05/2011 1:25pm,
There are so many red flags with that website and the material contained within it, my eyes are strained from all the rolling.

Good ole Phil Porter and crew strike again.

judoka_uk
1/05/2011 1:47pm,
He's not a Judo 10th dan.

Permalost
1/05/2011 2:09pm,
He's not a Judo 10th dan.
Do you know if he has any rank with the Kodokan?

judoka_uk
1/05/2011 2:16pm,
Do you know if he has any rank with the Kodokan?
No idea and I have no way of checking, easily. However, seeing as anyone in he US who gets a legitimate dan grade can get a carbon copy Kodokan grade in the post he could have one, but it won't be 10th dan or anything over 6th/7th.

Edit: