PDA

View Full Version : Let Hip arthritis stop me from training?

brokenwing
12/20/2010 6:51pm,
Hi guys, been training BJJ for the last 3 years, 4-5X a week. Before I started training I broke my thigh in a car accident. That left me with some misalignment in my hips. It never bothered me before, but lately I've been noticing that there's a lot of discomfort coming from my hip. Also there's that grinding sound too, doesn't hurt but it scares me every time I feel it.

What this pretty much tells me is that I'm slowly destroying my hip. My GP says that I should find a different "hobby" but this is kind of more than a hobby to me. I'm close to making some drastic changes in my life to accommodate for more training time but should I even bother if my hip is already shot?

I'm 26 years old, no spring chicken, so I understand that if I am to make a real run at going pro it's gotta be now or never. But thoughts of screwing up my hip is freaking me out. What do you guys think?

RichD
12/20/2010 9:26pm,
No spring chicken, ha ha your a freaking riot. Your a but a wee baby. If you hear grinding your probably dealing with arthritis. Grinding in the knee, hip or any other major joint is the sound of bone on bone, meaning your cartilage is wearing away.

You need to see an orthopedic surgeon. On a non-medical note, I would highly recommend Glucosamine and chondroitan. The combination helps your joints.

brokenwing
12/21/2010 6:05am,
Weird, I thought I posted this in the grappling forum... I've read about the Glucosamine and have been on it for a little while, but have yet to try chondroitin. I also heard fish oils will help my cause too.

Does anyone know how quickly a joint can deteriorate with heavy training?

RichD
12/21/2010 9:32pm,
Weird, I thought I posted this in the grappling forum... I've read about the Glucosamine and have been on it for a little while, but have yet to try chondroitin. I also heard fish oils will help my cause too.