PDA

View Full Version : I had my black belt grading yesterday and...

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Apollo1982
12/20/2010 10:13am,
After 5 hours of grading I have my first degree black belt in Chameleon Combat Karate :icon_cool.

My hand is swollen from the demolition test, my whole body feels like I've been beat up and after drinking fluids from the time grading ended 'til right now i still feel dehydrated.

I had to do an endurance test
Execute 120 techniques from the syllabus (10 from each level up to black belt)
Execute 5 forms and 2 bunkai
Short edged weapon (knife), long edged weapon (cutlass), short stick, long stick (pool stick) disarms from frontal attacks
Gun disarms from frontal, rear and side attacks
All weapons were real, the gun was loaded, i'm sure the safety was on though...i hope. In any case i didn't get shot.
Fight in 3 stricking matches, 3 grappling matches, 3 mma matches and 2 2-on-1 matches (against 2nd degree and above black belts).
submit a 500 word essay on how my training has helped in my progressive personal development.
be interviewed by a panel of black belts.

It was the hardest thing i've ever had to do, but i'm glad that I experienced it. The Grand Master said that future gradings are easier...that's the same thing he said when i got my senior white belt :eusa_liar

CoffeeFan
12/20/2010 10:15am,
Congrats! How long have you been training for? Do you have video?

twisted mind
12/20/2010 10:22am,
Congratulations!!

and Merry Christmas!

Apollo1982
12/20/2010 10:26am,
Thanks, I've been training for 4 years now. I train 3 days a week for 2 hrs each. It used to be 4 times a week, but one of the classes was cancelled earlier this year because of poor attendance.

I'm lucky in the sense that classes are really convenient for me. The dojo is just a 10 minute drive from where I work and since classes begin at 5:30 and I work 'til 4:30, it's very easy for me to get there.