PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from Aberdeen (UK)

Walpurgisnacht
10/24/2010 4:43pm,
Hey, my name's Walpurgisnacht (if you know a song by this name, shame on you), I'm a student in Aberdeen, I like lifting weights and long walks on the beach. I've been reading Bullshido ever since I saw some grappling and thought it looked fun - I recently (finally) found a place to train and it is absurd amounts of fun to grab your shin and choke a dude with it, but you all know that already.

The place I train is very small and the main instructor does a self defense class, but if people want to work on specific they can do that so I go for ground work, but there's not really any structure to the sessions so what I learn is pretty much up to me so can anyone tell me what a typical (white belt's) BJJ session looks like where they train? At the minute an instructor will typically show me a technique or two and I'll ask to drill it a couple times, then we'll roll and I'll try to hit it and if there's another person there grappling, I'll roll with them. Rolling with my instructors is like a predator playing with its food. It's both awesome and frustrating at the same time.

I know it would be better to find a pure BJJ place with a coach who knows how to coach, but the only other places in Aberdeen that I or my instructors know of are complete MMA places which I'm not interested in right now and which cost too much. This little place is cheap and the instructors know their stuff so I need to work with it.

Also does anyone get a retarded amount of bruises grappling? After some sessions my arms end up looking like I was attacked with a bat.

syberia
10/24/2010 6:12pm,
Also does anyone get a retarded amount of bruises grappling? After some sessions my arms end up looking like I was attacked with a bat.

Do you bruise easy in general?
I get bruises all the time, but no bat attacks...