View Full Version : Robson Pereira?
DuckofDeath
06-08-2005, 02:19 AM
This guy is really setting off alarms on the Jiu-Jitsu Gear forum. Supposedly a BJJ BB who trained under "Maurice Sakata" and "Marco Aurelio." There's no Maurice Sakata listed on bjj.org and no "Marco" Aurelio--there is, however, a Marcos Aurelio listed on bjj.org, but Robson Pereira is not listed as one of his BBs. Since bjj.org is not a completely exhaustive, up to date resource, can anyone out there perhaps vouch for Pereira's claims?
Here's the school where he's listed as teaching:
www.rpfightingsystems.com/instructors.html
Some have pointed out that his gi and belt look suspiciously crisp and new and that the belt doesn't have the red sleeve on it. His stance looks funny too.
Camus
06-08-2005, 03:47 AM
I don't know about the guy in particular, but I agree it's a little fishy, from what research you've done so far anyway.
I like this though, although it refers to another one of their instructors and not the Robson guy himself (Robson? weird name, huh?)
Ron Keblish - Sensei Ron Keblish has trained in varying styles of martial arts for 13 years. He currently holds rank in American Tae Kwon Do (3rd Degree Black Belt); Earth Dragon Martial Arts (1st Dan Black Belt); Okinawan KoBuDo (Weapons, 1st Dan ); Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (Blue Belt).
My extreme emphasis
Sounds like the Dragonball show they have on Toon Network before the good shows (Futurama, Family Guy, Harvey Birdman, etc)
Beneath Contempt
06-08-2005, 10:40 AM
You know what? I think there comes a point at which the holy crusade against bullshit has to balance up against just doing your own thing and concentrating on one's own business.
I do not know anything about this Robson fellow, but his school seems to be no different from most others. I would give him the benefit of the doubt. Just because he is not listed on the sacred text of bjj.org doesn't make him a phoney.
If (hypothetically) he is not all that he claims, he will be found out and quickly too. BJJ is a sport and if his students don't compete, or if they consistently lose - hey.
We all know that grapplers love to travel around and train with anyone they can. At some point soon, a really good grappler is going to train with this guy - and hopefully will find him to be everything he claims to be.
He's not claiming to be able to dodge bullets or enter the Matrix, so I say leave him be - all that is happening on JJgear is that a bunch of turds are ripping into him because of the shape of his head.
Dochter
06-08-2005, 11:09 AM
all that is happening on JJgear is that a bunch of turds are ripping into him because of the shape of his head.He does have a funny shaped head.
If he's not a blackbelt, that should be brought out. What's your problem with that.
I'd say in his favor, all the other instructors are blues. That's actually a good sign.
Yrkoon9
06-08-2005, 11:39 AM
You're going to have to be one tough mofo if you grew up with a head shaped like that. Lots and lots and lots of fights under his belt I'm sure.
Bizzaro Root
06-08-2005, 12:29 PM
just because i guy has a funny stance and a crisp clean gi and belt in his website pic doesnt mean that he doesnt do the real bjj.maybe hes just trying to look good for the camera. hell my instructor in his bjj.org picture he wearing a brand new atama.
Feather 1
2nd Marco Aurelio Lewis / Pederneiras 1998 pan ams... he lost to royler
and he fought and won in HnS and zst and bushido.
http://www.sherdog.com/fightfinder/fightfinder.asp?fighterid=4833
Dochter
06-08-2005, 12:31 PM
just because i guy has a funny stance and a crisp clean gi and belt in his website pic doesnt mean that he doesnt do the real bjj.That's a given.
Seems he links to and references people who don't know him though.
DuckofDeath
06-08-2005, 12:36 PM
Just because he is not listed on the sacred text of bjj.org doesn't make him a phoney.
Who said it did? Go back up and re-read what I said about bjj.org NOT being a "completely exhaustive, up to date source."
He's not claiming to be able to dodge bullets or enter the Matrix
But he is claiming to be a BJJ BB.
all that is happening on JJgear is that a bunch of turds are ripping into him because of the shape of his head.
I left his head out of it.
Bizzaro Root
06-08-2005, 12:50 PM
hell after reading his mission statement i like this guy alot
http://www.rpfightingsystems.com/philosophy.html
Be advised, RPFS is not your traditional martial arts academy!
We do not perform forms or "katas";
We do not break boards or bricks;
We do not teach foreign languages; and
We do not give history lessons.
thats funny, wonder how much bussiness hes lost just because of that.
DuckofDeath
06-08-2005, 01:07 PM
just because i guy has a funny stance and a crisp clean gi and belt in his website pic doesnt mean that he doesnt do the real bjj.maybe hes just trying to look good for the camera.
I really don't have a problem with the new gi either, but the belt looks like it just came out of the wrapper (Jiu-Jitsu Gear has an enlargement of the pic) and it doesn't have the red sleeve on it. Of course, if he had the picture taken immediately after his teacher took the belt out of the wrapper and presented it to him, that would explain it. But why does he never specifically mention WHO presented him with the belt? I'm very suspicious of a supposed BJJ BB who weasels around about "training under so-and-so and so-and-so" without ever coming out and saying, "I received my BB from so-and-so."
DuckofDeath
06-08-2005, 01:13 PM
We do not give history lessons.
Ah! That explains why Robson doesn't know who gave him his BB!
Bizzaro Root
06-08-2005, 01:25 PM
really your sounding jealous, to me it sound like marcos gave him his bb and he was born and rasied in brazil. just because he doesnt have a red stripe and sound off about who he got his bb from ever other line on his site doesnt make him a fraud.
Allegory
06-08-2005, 01:25 PM
BJJ.org is incomplete. I study under a fellow named Brad Gumm ( http://www.gummbjj.com/ ) who is a brown belt under Machado BB David Ruiz ( http://coloradobjj.com/bjj.html ). David is listed on Bjj.org but Brad is not.
Now this may or may not have anything to do with this Robson guy but it is something to be aware of.
Dochter
06-08-2005, 02:41 PM
Yeah, lots of people have already acknowledged it.
to me it sound like marcos gave him his bb and he was born and rasied in brazil. How come no one seems to know who he or his instructor are then?
DuckofDeath
06-08-2005, 02:47 PM
really your sounding jealous, to me it sound like marcos gave him his bb and he was born and rasied in brazil. just because he doesnt have a red stripe and sound off about who he got his bb from ever other line on his site doesnt make him a fraud.
I'm satisfied now that the red sleeve business is a non-issue and should not be pressed any further. But why does he specifically state that he studied under Sakata and Aurelio and not just come out and say that he got his black belt from one or the other? You see what I'm getting at? "I have a BB and I studied under so-and-so." Yes, he might have a BB and and he might have studied under so-and-so--but so-and-so might not have given him the BB!
TylerDurden
06-08-2005, 02:50 PM
No one has said BJJ.org was a complete list, just that it was a nice quick reference. And the face this guy will not tell where he got his black belt from is fishy to say the least. The BJJ community is too small to not have someone nobody knows grading people to black belt. In Allegory's example maybe people don't know who his teacher is, or even who David Ruiz is, but they damn sure know who the Machados are and that's a reference point to start from. There is nothing wrong in questioning someone about who gave them their black belt.
Robson Pereira?
|
vBulletin® v3.8.1, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
|