Featherweight

Posted On:
    8/26/2010 11:24pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: transitioning

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Question regarding stronglifts

Ok, so I've been doing Stronglifts 5x5 for a couple months now, and over the summer I was seeing some progress. Unfortunately, I'd tend to get injured/sick whenever I was really making progress on my bench/overhead press, so I have yet to work the two past 185/115 respectively. I love the program and I'd love to keep doing it, but I wasn't sure if sticking with the same exercises too long might be part of the problem. Can I stick with the program until I stall on my squat with weight greater than/equal to 1.5x my bodyweight, even if it takes me a couple more months to get there?

My other question has to do with me being back in college. The place I train Krav is about 1.8 miles away, so rather than drive I've started running to and from the class. This with the squatting has been pretty hard on my legs. Would it be better to start driving, switch to a program that doesn't involve so much squatting, or do I just need to man up?

Thanks in advance for any help, guys.

Posted On:
    8/26/2010 11:45pm

forum leader
     Style: BJJ/ MMA/ MT

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    SL5x5 recommends having a break around every six weeks, I can't remember if they recommend 1 or two weeks worth, but it is a break. That will help with the plateauing you experience.

I'd suggest continuing the program until you get to squatting 1.5x your bodyweight as recommended, if it is a couple of months away, what are you worried about? Step at a time, dude. When it happens, you can then go searching for your next program.

Also, I use the walk to and from the gym as warm up and cool down. After the squats and deadlifts, I wouldn't run.

Then again, I'm a bit jealous because I have just restarted the program and would probably be where you at or better if I hadn't been injured.

Posted On:
    8/26/2010 11:56pm

Join us... or die