Transmaniacon MC

Posted On:
    8/24/2010 11:26am

supporting member
     Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Boca Raton, FL - LaVallee's USA Black Belt Champions

I've been training at LaVallee's Boca Raton location under Sensei Ian Hewitt for about 4 months, now. I started there essentially as a newcomer to martial arts. After watching 6 months of blackbelt candidate classes, I was eager to begin with this school. Before I started training there, I found Bullshido in search of reviews of the school, which I found none. By writing this, I think some sort of karmic circle will close.

SYSTEM
    The style is self-labeled MMA, combining elements of Muay Thai, Kenpo, Hisardut, and Jiu-Jitsu. Yes, this means your belt isn't portable to schools outside of the LaVallee system.

Today, LaVallee's has 12 locations: 8 in upstate New York and 4 in southeast Florida, including the headquarters which is co-located with Kyoshi Steve LaVallee's other enterprise, Martial Arts University International. I believe that all the dojos share the same curriculum and atmosphere, but I only currently train at the Boca Raton location, so your experience may vary with other locations.

If you happen to regularly travel between upstate New York and southeast Florida, your membership is respected at all of the dojos. It is encouraged to visit the other dojos if you have the opportunity. Advanced belts will travel to other dojos as part of their continued training.