Posted On:
    2/26/2004 12:16pm

supporting member
     Style: BJJ/Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Florida Panhandle Throwdown?

Copied from "ha ha ha....aikido videos" thread:

"I have been thinking about this very thing for the last couple of weeks. I would personally love to do a throwdown as I love a challenge, love martial arts, love to learn new things, and I would love to prove aikido's efficacy. But there are a few problems. First off, even though I've been training on and off for a few years I'm only a fifth kyu (testing is not a high priority for me) so any black belt in any art worth his weight in beans can probably woop my ass, not that I wouldn't go down fighting. The big problem is that the whole notion of a throwdown is against the ideals of aikido. An aikidoka does not fight to prove his skill, show his strength or booster his ego. An aikidoka uses aikido as a last resort which is why there is NOT a lot of video evidence to prove that aikido works. If I were really a good aikidoka I would just dismiss this notion altogether. The other problem lies in the application of technique. If I fight somebody and they hurt me then my aikido sucks. If I fight somebody and I hurt them then my aikido sucks. It's a no-win situation for me. If my sensei were to find out that I did this I could be kicked out of my dojo. If I injured somebody while fighting them then I would feel really really bad. And even if say a fight is filmed and I beat somebody does that really prove to the nay-sayers that aikido can work? NO. And if I am beaten does that mean that aikido sucks? NO.