Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    8/14/2010 7:35am

Style: MT/Ex-Judo NO SPRAWL?!

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Boxing in Muay Thai - Help me get started

**EDIT: Holy crap, I meant to post in the basic miscellaneous technique. So sorry mods.

OK. I'm a beginner so in before "STFU and spar".

I need a bunch of tips to get me started and make me stop sucking on boxing.

During sparring, I have no problem landing kicks but when it comes to boxing-only sparring, I start sucking really hard.

The problem is that I'm 5'4" so everyone's reach is longer than mine.
    ****, even people who are on the same height can hit me before I hit them.

Everytime I jab, step to jab, I get hit in the face, yeah I do keep my guard up. That is if I reach them, most of the time it doesn't even hit their guard.

I can land hits... to the body, and it doesn't have enough power. I can get into the clinch when I get close but this isn't Judo.

I've been told to rush in with my elbow up guarding the face, but all I get is a punch and a guy moving back.
    I can keep the distance and a defensive footwork and not get cornered or punched but that's just a fancy way of running away like a chicken.

So, what's the problem?
    My stance too short?
    Do I need to do a wide boxer's stance?
    And I don't really want to make a habit of bobbing and weaving.

\EDIT: I think it has a lot to do with having a narrow almost standing stance and being flat footed.

Sorry, I wish I could delete this thread.
    Last edited by iopyud; 8/14/2010 8:12am at .

Posted On:
    8/15/2010 8:05am

Style: Muay Thai

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Start working on using angles. It sounds like you go forward in a straight line, which isn't that hard to get away from for somebody more experienced.