Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/19/2010 9:49am

Style: Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Judoka going to first BJJ lesson

I've been doing judo for the last 4 months but unfortunately the club is closed over the summer months until September so I have decided to try some BJJ for the next couple of months and in fact my first lesson is on Wednesday night. I've emailed the instructor at the BJJ club and his is totally cool about me just training for two months and said that I am welcome to train whenever I can afterwards even if that only means once a month.

As a Judoka and a noob one at that, what can i expect from my first BJJ lesson and will my Newaza skills learnt over the last 4 months be of any benefit?

Cheers

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/19/2010 12:05pm

Style: Judo/BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Probably not. Most Judo schools have lackluster newaza as most BJJ schools have lackluster tachiwaza.

That said, you'll be a more complete grappler for this.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/19/2010 12:19pm

Style: Judo, BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    No. I basically had to unlearn two semesters of bad habits, and that basically cancelled out all the good habits I'd learned (few and far between, those habits). My friend and I started at the same time, and he had no experience. We both had trips, and by this point, I've trained for 3-4 weeks, him for 4-6ish, and when we decided to go all out (no time stoppage), he edged me out.

Remember:
    People will not turtle for you.
    Do not turtle.
    No one's going to call matte if something stalls out.
    FUCKING DO NOT TURN ONTO YOUR STOMACH PERIOD. THIS WILL BE YOUR SCOURGE FOR AT LEAST HALF A MONTH. Or until you get okuri eri jime'd enough to figure it out. I still haven't.
    Cross collar'ing people in their guards/who have you mounted is now an even worse idea. Prepare to eat many, many arm bars.