pro nonsense self defense

Posted On:
    6/20/2010 5:11pm

supporting member
     Style: FMA, dumbek, Indian clubs

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

thinking about starting a historical pugilism group in San Diego

I've been thinking about starting a training group based on the old LPR boxing manuals I've come across over the years (special thanks to Kirk Lawson). I have four years experience teaching kung fu, so I'm used to directing a group for sparring, drilling etc, so I'm thinking that + a whole lot of reading will let me start my own little pugilism experiment. I've been playing around with a lot of the material on my heavy bag for a few years, but haven't been able to work the stuff with a partner. I was thinking of something along the lines of the bartitsu group- more of a recreation/experiment than anything else. Any advice from any of the experienced WMA folks?

Light Heavyweight

Posted On:
    6/20/2010 10:48pm

supporting member
     Style: Bartitsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    What kind of advice are you looking for?

Registered Member

Posted On:
    6/21/2010 8:20am

Style: Bowie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by CodosDePiedra View Post
    Any advice from any of the experienced WMA folks?
    Expect slow growth unless you can find a marketing niche. Historic arts, MMA, something that will pique interest that you can link it in to.

Often the hardest part is finding the first training partner.

Peace favor your sword,
    Kirk

Posted On:
    6/21/2010 2:44pm

supporting member

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by DdlR View Post
    What kind of advice are you looking for?
    -any thoughts of where to get the word out?
    -any existing groups that do that kind of thing?

Light Heavyweight

Posted On:
    6/21/2010 2:56pm

supporting member

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!