insight combined with intel, fuse, and dynamite

Posted On:
    6/17/2010 12:50pm

supporting member
     Style: (Hung Ga+BJJ+MT+JKD) ^ Qi

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Hung Ga Kung Fu + Judo Thoughts...

First post....lurked a bit rather than posting. Killing two birds with one stone here, introduction and serious questions about my current style Hung Ga. I thought I'd try to find some kindred spirits on the board and noticed a number of folks study both Judo and some form of eastern boxing, this seems to be a great balance of learning effective striking and effective ground technique. I studied Judo for several years in college and was having a blast sparring and competing until two back to back injuries (the last was letting a white belt tori throw me in harai goshi and he yanked my arm in a way it was not meant to go) made me hang up training for almost a decade to get married, have kids, etc.

After my sons were born I wanted to get back into a martially disciplined mindset and I set out to find a good teacher of *something* and settled on a local Hung Ga sifu who had trained for many years in many different styles both traditional and modern but happened to enjoy teaching Hung. Knowing all about the bullshit passed off as MA these days everything seemed in order (our kwoon is nothing fancy but has lots of space and the necessary equipment, lots of bruising and contact, price reasonable, no claims to Zen wizardry other than the typical breathing, meditation techniques that I know from experience are solid).

I was interested in people's take on Hung (particularly Ming Loyalist's), no bullshit. What do you like/dislike? I have to say that after about a year of Hung training my old Judo injury pains vanished and I began to practice my judo technique again and felt more power and flexibility than I had in my early 20s.

regards, ED

solves problems with violence

Posted On:
    6/17/2010 2:24pm

supporting member
     Style: Judo, Hung Family Boxing

--