Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    6/04/2010 11:23am

Style: mma

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Overpronation

Here's my story. I have been told in the past by running shoe store professionals that I'm an over-pronator. That will be relevant in a second. In high school I did a lot of running and cross country skiing without any problems. I have been moderately active in the ~11 years since high school.

Recently I started playing soccer on fake turf with my friends on weekends. I wear soccer shoes for this. I also do muay thai. During the last few games my legs took quite a beating. I've since bought shin pads and been careful to avoid people who slide when playing. Since one game where someone landed on my right tibia pushing my knee and ankle inward, I have had pain that I blamed on that. When it subsided I went to another game and found both my knees and ankles feel like they have a lot of soreness from impact, as well as my calves. This soreness feels like it is more in the tendon than the ligament.

I have also a lot of caluses on the inside of my feet especially on the edge of my big toe. These formed blisters when playing soccer that broke, and I cut off the dead skin with scissors for some relief. Anyway, the other day my legs were hurting so bad I went to my chiropractor for some treatment. He said I had shin splints and he looked at my feet and my gait and said that I'm likely over-pronating. His treatment of my legs worked some for temporary relief, but he advised getting orthotic insoles to correct, support, and prevent damage.

Right now I can't afford orthotics, but I saw some videos on over-pronation such as these:
    YouTube- Pronation Training Exercises

YouTube- Danny Dreyer on Pronating when Running

I was wondering if exercises alone can be used to treat and reverse over-pronation.