Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    5/25/2010 9:41pm

Style: Street Focus Jiujitsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Am I running/training right?

Ok guys, I'm an aspiring police officer and I'm trying out for the Nashua Police Department. All the requirements are here http://www.nashuapd.com/Forms/PT-TestRequirements.pdf

I'm 5'9, 160-165lbs. I'm in the 21-29 bracket.

I can bench 170, I do 50 push-ups 5 times a day.

I can do 40 sit-ups, I can do 33 push-ups.

My main problem comes at the 1.5 miles in 11:58. How much is 1.5? Is that 1.05 or 1.50? At the moment I can run 1.25 miles in 12.00. That sets me behind by a full a lap. I'm running at a pretty brisk pace and I'm at the edge of exhaustion when I try to aim for that or faster.

So I have a couple of questions. What do you recommend I do to get ready for this test as a whole? Also, for the running portion, I have done plenty of exercise in BJJ. The one where I run around with a guy on my back, the one where a guy holds my gi, the one where I carry a guy, and there is a guy that tells me to breathe a certain way. What is the way to breathe? "breathe in through your nose, and out your mouth" - what is the strategy behind breathing? Should I breathe in deep and slow?

Then there is the footwork, and posture should I go into my squat/dead lift mode - keeping my back straight? Should I be light on my feet like I'm shadow boxing? Or should i put my weight down into each step when i run?

These are alot of questions, but know that your information doesn't fall on deaf ears, I'm working towards this and any information that can help me related to fitness is greatly appreciated.

Titanium laced beauty

Posted On:
    5/25/2010 9:49pm

supporting memberforum leaderstaff
     Style: BJJ, wrestling

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    1.5 is the same thing as 1.50, or one and a half miles.