Yours truly

Posted On:
    5/10/2010 11:01pm

Business Class Supporting Member
     PDS Rifles Style: Univ. Florida Kickboxing

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

help me with Knife selection!

I am giving away my knife to my girlfriend, who has a summer job in D.C. I am commuting to work on a bicycle and definitely do not want to be without a knife. Do you guys have any tips? No guns. Long story. Here is the situation:

A. CWP would solve all my problems; fixblades, etc all legal as long as it is concealed. However, its expensive and I am not going to spend money just so I can carry a different knife.

B.
    Florida knife law in a nutshell is (BTW I'm not a lawyer!):
    1. plastic knives are okay
    2. common pocketknives are okay
    2.5. common pocketknife definition is not elaborated.
    (It sounds like depending on WHO you are or WHAT you look like, cops and jury will basically interpret that however they want.)

C.
    This is the kind of knife I would need
    1. It needs to be slim so I will barely notice it while wearing it
    2. It needs to be very concealable; IWB when I need to (like when I'm at work, so no one can even see the clip), while wearing a thin summer suit.
    3. A well cutting blade, karambit type good, tanto type bad.
    4. Must deploy quickly with one hand. Preferably a assisted opening or emerson-type mechanism
    5. Not too expensive
    6. A knife that looks very civilian, very non-combat like is plus. Even though "tactical" knives are designed more as tools than weapons.

Currently I carry a Spyderco Endura with the wave feature. 2.75" blade with very thin profile. I loved it and I would have it everywhere because it would not bulk up my pocket. I am looking for something that thin. This is the knife being given to my GF.