Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    4/07/2010 9:58am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Enshin

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Bakido Ymas thread

Yeah, I know way to bring up an old thread. But I have been researching the web about the art I practiced for 11 years, just to see what others had to say. I'll tell you what, it did not START as a McDojo. I trained there year round and it did help me boost my confidence and my abilities. I made some good friends too. But I did notice over the years that it went from being a solid school of instruction to slowly start to churn out belts for profit. Having instructed and worked there for a number of years, building student/teacher/friend/mentor relationships with many people, I can honestly say I loved what I did, but I still noticed the gradual decline. It DOES have a good after-school program, but that's what I discovered. It turned into an after-school program, and now the reputation and art suffers because of it. Do I think my abilities are sub-par? No, because I studied them diligently and worked twice as hard as some of my peers. There is alot to be learned at SAK, and the techniques ARE effective, tried and true. So I'm not going to argue against the fact that yes, it hands a belt to anyone that walks in, including black belts. That doesn't mean the Art is to blame, but the practitioners. I still believe in my Bakido, it just hurts to see what the school has been reduced to. I have a 5th degree Black belt from there, but I don't feel that its a status rank for saying "Look at me", but just a level of knowledge. I'm thrilled to introduce myself as a White Belt in Enshin Karate. Anyways, long rant cut short, don't hate the Art, it is practical and useful and legitimate, you just have to practice and work at it harder than they require you to for it to be properly effective.

Posted On:
    4/07/2010 11:44am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Enshin

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

From there...2