224984 Bullies, 3525 online  
  • Register
Our Sponsors:

Results 11 to 20 of 31
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 12 34 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image
  1. Holy Moment is online now
    Holy Moment's Avatar

    Light Heavyweight

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Shitsville
    Posts
    4,073

    Posted On:
    4/07/2010 5:39pm

    supporting member
     Style: Wrestling

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Somehow, I think they had Paul Varelans in mind when they banned the downward elbow. The move was probably associated with a strike to the spine.

  2. Barrett is offline

    Registered Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Nome, AK
    Posts
    177

    Posted On:
    4/07/2010 7:18pm


     Style: BJJ

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I was actually wondering about Camoe's headplant myself. I've seen several fights now where when someone is standing with the other guy on their back, they do a front-flip/somersault. I don't see any reason why they'd do that, except to intentionally spike the other guy's head into the mat.

    Usually the guy on the back avoids getting hurt by tucking his head, but Pellegrino actually waited until Camoe was starting to slide over the top so he had nowhere to go.
  3. Arcan is offline

    Featherweight

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    60

    Posted On:
    4/07/2010 8:26pm

    Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Krav

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I had wondered about tossing someone out of the ring. It seems like the sub-defense slams come really damn close to spiking the head. You tuck your chin, but there's still a decent chance your landing on your neck.
  4. Hesperus is offline
    Hesperus's Avatar

    it's all vanity

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Great Plains
    Posts
    3,045

    Posted On:
    4/07/2010 11:34pm

    Join us... or die
     Style: Kano-Gracie

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Kung-Fu Joe View Post
    any slam as a submission defense, are legal maneuvers.
    This sounds like crap, is biting allowed to escape a submission?

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnyCache View Post
    "Spiking" is deliberate positioning with intent to make the person hit the ground head first.
    Did we watch the same fight? Looked deliberate as hell to me.
  5. Frenzal is offline

    Registered Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    142

    Posted On:
    4/08/2010 12:48am


     

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Hesperus View Post
    This sounds like crap, is biting allowed to escape a submission?



    Did we watch the same fight? Looked deliberate as hell to me.
    I think you could argue that Camoes positioned himself, rather than Pellegrino putting him there.
    I guess that makes a difference.
  6. Lampa is offline
    Lampa's Avatar

    Middleweight

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Oceanside, NY
    Posts
    1,288

    Posted On:
    4/08/2010 1:21am

    Business Class Supporting Member
     New York MMA Examiner Style: magic FUCKING powers!

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Last weekend I did an hour long podcast just on rules clarification where me and The Fight Nerd talk this stuff to death. Would it be unseemly for me to just link it directly in this thread?
  7. Squerlli is offline
    Squerlli's Avatar

    Registered User

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    NO! SLEEP! TILL BROOKLYN!
    Posts
    3,683

    Posted On:
    4/08/2010 2:40am

    Join us... or die
     Style: Hiatus

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by pokeroo View Post
    My understanding of the towel throwing thing in boxing is that because of this illegal activity, the ref penalizes the corner by awarding the victory to the other boxer. I could be wrong though.
    This is what my understanding was as well.
    Quote Originally Posted by MMAMickey View Post
    I think they enforce the rule more often now than they used to. I've seen a match where the towel was thrown in and the ref just kicked it back out.. no foul just no aknowledgement lol
    WHAT!? That is just... **** tarded. What the hell!?
  8. pokeroo is offline

    Registered Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    614

    Posted On:
    4/08/2010 2:43am


     Style: mma

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Lampa View Post
    Last weekend I did an hour long podcast just on rules clarification where me and The Fight Nerd talk this stuff to death. Would it be unseemly for me to just link it directly in this thread?
    I think I heard of fight nerd before. Yeah, post it here or send me your podcast.
  9. MMAMickey is offline
    MMAMickey's Avatar

    POWERRR!

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,743

    Posted On:
    4/08/2010 2:48am

    Join us... or die
     Style: Boxing.MMA

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Squerlli View Post
    WHAT!? That is just... **** tarded. What the hell!?
    I think it sounds worse than it was.. The ref did stop the fight less than a minute later due to the extreme ass kicking the guy was getting, he just wouldn't aknowledge the towel.. actually no ur absolutely right it is kinda fucktarded
    "The hero and the coward both feel the same thing, but the hero projects his fear onto his opponent while the coward runs. 'Fear'. It's the same thing, but it's what you do with it that matters". - Cus D'Amato
    Spoiler:

  10. ArtOfDefense is offline

    Registered Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    164

    Posted On:
    4/08/2010 10:51am


     Style: Bayless Freestyle JJ

    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Th foul depends on the situation.

    For example, if I double leg my opponent, pick him up and then slam him on his head/neck withou his back hitting first, I've commited a foul. He had no choice in how I dumped him, so I am responsible.

    If some dummy tries to hold onto an armbar he threw uo and I go to slam, he has the choice to let go and not be slammed or to try and pendulum and break my arm before he hits the ground, which may end up in his head spiking. Because in this situation, and in the Camoes situation, the person getting planted has the option of releasng the submission attempt, there is no foul when they get spiked.

    Essentially, the ref is not going to penalize your opponent for you being stubborn.

    By the way, I'm back around! I've been training too much to post in a while, but I'll be more active in the future.
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 12 34 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Powered by vBulletin™© contact@vbulletin.com vBulletin Solutions, Inc. 2011 All rights reserved.