Featherweight

Posted On:
    3/31/2010 6:07pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: tai chi, silat

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

teaching police UDT after many years layoff

I was recently asked to teach unarmed defensive tactics to local police in Thailand. The problem is, although I was a defensive tactics instructor for department back in US, that was a long time ago. I have been retired now for 4 years, and prior to that I was supervisor and, although I have never stopped training in martial arts and work out regularly, I have not taught others in years. Also, I now suffer from herniated disk and do not really want trainees throwing me around onto the ground. On the one hand, I feel I could contribute something worthwhile to these guys, as their current training seems to have much to be desired, but on the other I don't know if I have been away from training for too long.Has anyone out their been through a similar situation, or have some suggestion about what to do, as I have been thinking maybe I should tell this department to try to find someone younger and who has taught more recently. Thanks.

POWERRR!

Posted On:
    3/31/2010 6:15pm

Join us... or die
     Style: Boxing.MMA

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    If you're genuinely capable of teaching these guys stuff that will keep their asses out of coffins then go for it imo.
    "The hero and the coward both feel the same thing, but the hero projects his fear onto his opponent while the coward runs. 'Fear'. It's the same thing, but it's what you do with it that matters". - Cus D'Amato
    Spoiler:

Posted On:
    3/31/2010 6:57pm

Join us... or die
     Style: FMA, Ego Warrior

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I'm with Mickey on this.

I've had instructors who were pretty old, and obviously I didn't go around craking their spines over my knee. (They would have kicked my ass anyways...) But I learned more from those old guys than I did from any of the younger dudes I've worked with.