Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    3/03/2010 4:37pm

Style: grappling, swordfighting

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

SCA Combat

OK folks, here's where you get to say how unrealistic SCA combat is, how ineffective it is as a self-defense system, how out-of-shape the fighters are, and basically post up all your third-person accounts of how worthless, stupid, awful, self-important, historically inaccurate, and meaningless that group of LARPers known as the Society for Creative Anachronism is.

Or, if you prefer, ask reasonable questions and I will try to give reasonable answers. I have 23 years experience in the game, have won a local championship and a couple of tourneys, been a squire and a locakl knight marshal, fought in many Pennsics, as well as Gulf Wars and Estrella, produced a documentary about the Pennsic War, and have had the good fortune to have known several significant and accomplished people in the game.

The SCA is a big organization, though, and there are many people in it with many opinions, and one of those opinions may be that I should shut up and go away. Just sayin'...

Registered Member

Posted On:
    3/03/2010 7:38pm

Style: Not sure anymore

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Pennsic Videos

Were epic!!

I've been to a couple of Dagorhir's Rags and they paled by compiarson.
    I've got friends who are players in both games that have invited me to Pennsic but I never took them up on it for various reasons.

Due to not digging the fighting in Dagorhir, I was always content with the campfire friendship and drinking thing...oh, and the maidens. Then getting married having kids and other physical pursuits kept me busy.