Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    3/03/2010 4:04am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: traditional tkd

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Technique overload for beginners?

For those students of TKD, TSD, or HKD - when you were a beginner, did you feel overwhelmed (rightly so, not just because you were indeed a beginner) with the number of techniques/patterns you were required to learn early on?

How much was/is expected of your white/yellow/green (or whatever your early beginning ranks are)?

The school (and federation) I study with, in my humble opinion, deluges new students with too much, too soon. Some students manage this fine, but most don't. When I was an assistant instructor, I used to run the beginners class as well as the regular classes at least a few nights a week. I was required to teach the curriculum as it had been taught to me, and to just about every one else that started with our school - we did have a few students who started in another ITF style school, and the occasional TSD student.

A brand new beginner would be taught front, back, and horse stances, straight punch, reverse punch, inward/outward knifehand strikes, inward/outward backfist strikes, ridgehand strikes, low, middle, and rising blocks, twin knifehand blocks, twin forearm blocks, middle forearm blocks, inward forearm blocks, and the high spear hand strike. They were also subject to stepping front, side, round, hook, and back kicks, along with jumping, reverse jumping, and stationary jumping versions of the same. They would also be taught Chon-Ji hyung, and four three-step sparring patterns. All of this information dumped on a white belt!

Aside from a new hyung and a few new step sparring patterns, there wasn't a lot of new ground to cover stance/block/strike/kicking wise until the student had a couple promotions behind them.