Veteran10000 Experience Points

Posted On:
    2/15/2010 12:11am

supporting member
     Style: Five Animal Fighting

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Turning Myself In: I Promoted Myself

Hey all. In interest of full disclosure I've decided to turn myself in for the epitome of Bullshido/McDojo, awarding myself ranking.

Here's my story...

I've been training in the martial arts continuously since 1986, most of the time under one instructor. I was promoted to 1st Degree Black Belt in American Kenpo in 1991 and 2nd Degree in 1994 before going to college out of state.

From 1994 - 1998 I ran my college's martial arts club and from 1998 - 2000 I trained at little on my own but spent most of the time working, watching kung-fu movies, and playing video games.

In 2000 I returned to the school of my youth and found my instructor had created his own Kenpo system. Like all of the other Black Belts of the school, he gave me the option of transferring my 2nd in American Kenpo into his "Five Animal Kenpo" or starting over from the beginning at White Belt. At that time I became the only student in the school's history to choose to give up a Black Belt ranking and start over from the beginning.

In 2005 I was promoted to 1st Degree Black Belt in the Five Animal Kenpo system.

In 2006 my instructor decided to sell his school and I agreed to buy it. This is where things started to go wrong. Despite being the most senior student of the school and the only remaining student from the time the school was founded, most people saw me as "only a 1st". No one cared about my two decades of experience, and the fact that I was a Black Belt before they had started training or in some cases were even born; they only saw the single stripe on my belt.

It didn't help that I really had no interest in advancing further in the Five Animal Kenpo system. The way my instructor had set things up, the material required for 2nd and 3rd dealt exclusively with weapons and I had no interest in that.