Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    2/07/2010 7:10pm

Style: Judo (noob) & BJJ (noob)

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

One handed Judo?

Well I broke a finger last Thursday and I'm letting it rest as per the orthopedics's orders. Also got a follow up with the ortho. tomorrow, see what he says.

Thing is, with my crappy schedule I barely make it to Judo as it is, and I don't want to miss any more.

So I was wondering if anybody has any advice for routines/ throws I can try to do with just one hand?

Technical info:
    1) It's in my left hand (and I'm a righty).
    2) It didn't just pop out and was replaced, a small piece of bone broke off and its still swollen, so i can't make a fist, or basically grip anything smaller than a small bottle. Don't know if this matters but figured I'd give the specifics.
    3) I'm very new to Judo and am a recreational player, so I don't mind learning new throws/routines and whatever.

What I mostly had in mind was only ouchi-komi (no randori unfortunately), and practice a one handed tai-otoshi variation along with a left handed harai goshi, maybe foot sweeps.

All Ideas and suggestions are welcomed.
    Thanks.
    Last edited by Gidi; 2/07/2010 7:12pm at . Reason: edit makes perfect

Registered Member

Toronto, Ontario, The United States of Canada

Posted On:
    2/07/2010 7:38pm

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I would recommend learning some theory in your downtime. Don't train injured. Go to class but don't participate physically.

Others may have some better suggestions.

Posted On:
    2/07/2010 8:18pm

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by G0LG013 View Post
    I would recommend learning some theory in your downtime. Don't train injured. Go to class but don't participate physically.
    I agree. Since you are a total noob, learning is hard enough with your both hands healthy. Go watch the class.

Or you could ask your instructor is there anything he would have you do while injured.