pro nonsense self defense

Posted On:
    2/03/2010 6:14pm

supporting member
     Style: FMA, dumbek, Indian clubs

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

"Dirty Fighting" by Lt. David W. Morrah jr available through the week

Pete Kautz of Alliance Martial Arts is hosting a free download for this great old book:
    http://www.alliancemartialarts.com/weeklyspecial.htm

As an artist, I really like the illustration style throughout the book (especially the anatomy chart ones). Apparently this manual has more of a catch wresting influence than some of the other WW2 combatives manuals. I kinda study these old manuals as a hobby, and this is one that I hadn't heard of but have enjoyed reading this week.

Thumbs up!

Posted On:
    2/04/2010 11:10pm

supporting member
     Style: Judo,MT,Boxing,BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    thanks for the link!

Light Heavyweight

Posted On:
    2/05/2010 3:34pm

supporting member
     Style: stick,Taiji, mountainbike

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Very interesting. Thanks for the link!!
    Combatives training log.

Gezere: paraphrase from Bas Rutten, Never escalate the level of violence in fight you are losing. :D

Drum thread

Pavel Tsatsouline: kettlebell workouts give you “cardio without the dishonour of aerobics”.

Posted On:
    2/05/2010 6:47pm

supporting member

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    There's a lot more grappling technique and emphasis in this one than the other WW2 combatives manuals out there. While most of them advocate striking to sensitive areas until they fall then stomping them out, this one takes the approach that hitting those points is difficult with an upright resisting opponent, so you should put them on the ground first.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    2/06/2010 12:48am

Style: Hapkido/Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Nice, I'm going to give this a read. Thanks

Light Heavyweight

Posted On:
    2/06/2010 8:57am

supporting member
     Style: stick,Taiji, mountainbike

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!