Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Featherweight

Posted On:
    1/22/2010 7:45pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Tae Kwon Do and Hapkido

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

What's the difference between Shorin Ryu and Shotokan Karate?

I have been studying Tae Kwon Do for two years and I’m loosing interest in the style. The more I progress the more acrobatic the style becomes, and lets face it I’m not an acrobat. I am 5’10 205 lbs. with very broad shoulders which doesn’t seem to work well with WTF TKD. My contract will soon be up and I’m looking to switch styles. I want a style that has an even amount of hand and foot techniques. I have found two local dojos that look pretty good. One teaches shorin ryu and the other teaches shotokan. I was wondering what the differences between the two styles are. Here are the web sites to the two schools.
    www.oshirodojo.com
    www.jkasv.com/dojo/dojomain.html

12th level logic wielder

Posted On:
    1/22/2010 8:14pm

Style: BJJ, judo, rapier

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    What are you looking for? Neither of them says anything whatsoever about contact sparring; I would question whether either school focuses much on imparting real fighting skills. If you want karate, and if you want to fight, you might want to look for Kyokushin, Ashihara, or Enshin (or Daiko Yuko/Kudo, if you’d like to add throws). And I rather cringe at the top graphic on the JKA site, showing one guy aggressively blocking a round kick with his forearm (sounds like a very good way to break your arm); if that’s what they think looks good in advertising…

If, on the other hand, you don’t care so much about practical fighting skills, you’re probably asking your question on the wrong forum.