Page 1 of 6 1 2345 ... LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Featherweight

Posted On:
    11/10/2009 7:34pm

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Is a background in other MA needed to be good at MMA?

I have been practicing MMA for about 6 months, and feel like I am not getting any better. I have no prior MA experience, and was thinking about trying another form and then coming back to MMA later. Would it help?

Posted On:
    11/10/2009 7:45pm

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    where do you feel that you're not getting better?

striking, grappling? both? is it your conditioning? your training partners? your instructor?

im sure you can go join a mcdojo and progress through the ranks and become a black belt real quick but is this what you want? sometimes progress is slow and there are peaks and valleys. ask your instructor how you can improve.

Featherweight

Posted On:
    11/10/2009 8:01pm

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Well, my classes are 1 hour, Mon/Wed, with an hour of sparring with the kickboxing class immediately following on Wed.. However, everyone in my MMA class save one person has dropped out, so its just me, him, and one or two instructors. We have been doing mainly striking and standing work, and I learned a few things from the sparring class. MMA classes feel like they are getting shorter and shorter; recently we've been doing a handful of striking sparring and practice rounds, then class is over. Maybe I just need a new gym, but I would feel kinda bad for leaving. Regardless, I feel like every class is a repeat of the last; I get a lot of the same advice, but still get clobbered despite trying to fix my problems.