Featherweight

Posted On:
    10/16/2009 4:39pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: taekwondo-military style

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Your Martial Art sucks

I've titled this threat to get your attention.
    No martial art sucks, yes I said it...no martial art sucks, only instructors of martial arts CAN suck.
    No system is better than any other system, they just have different motivations. I am a taekwondo Instructor. We describe it as the 'Military style' not for any gung-ho reasons but to differentiate it from ITF and WTF styles which have different motivations to us. We teach self-defense first and foremost with an emphasis on powerful technique. We rarely kick above chest height and have a huge amount of hand techniques. WE DO NOT COMPETE as our belief is that it corrupts the teaching of 'SELF DEFENCE' I can kick as high as any competing Taekwondo practitioner but in a self defense situation it is not safe to do so. We teach many joint locks some ground work ( but teach to avoid going to ground ) Sparring is done at full contact but no-one is ever hit because we are taught how to BLOCK correctly, which is the main difference between our Taekwondo school and the competition styles. When where how and why we use the techniques we learn is emphasised once we reach black belt. Colour belts learn the basic techniques and backbelts learn how to use them. I read some of the posts about why people left TKD training and not one reason was because of TKD as a martial art but because of the Instructor. If your Instructor is un enlightened how can his students be. I'll say it again, It's not the martial art that sucks only the Instructor.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    10/16/2009 4:48pm

Style: Out of Practice

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Where have all the good trolls gone?

Posted On:
    10/16/2009 4:56pm

Style: Much striking, SAMBO, BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Eudemic View Post
    I agree, but...