Featherweight

Posted On:
    8/30/2009 11:51am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: San shou

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

post-surgery diet and exercise

I'm having a very minor surgery done tomorrow (turbinate reduction, they shave off a small piece of the inside of my nose), but because of the high risk of bleeding, the doctor has advised no lifting, and no exercise for a week after the surgery (not even jogging).

Forgive the noob question, but is there anything I can do to prevent muscle atrophy in the week I can't lift? Maybe light dumbbell exercises? Or is that something I don't even have to worry about? I'm fairly new to bodybuilding (as should be obvious by my question).

Part II: I've been eating a diet high in protein and calories while lifting, but have also been doing cardio on my off days in addition to sanshou training. Because I'll be pretty much mostly sedentary while recovering, should I go to a lower calorie diet to offset the big reduction in physical activity? Or would that be harmful?

Registered Member

Posted On:
    8/30/2009 12:33pm

Style: MT and judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I'd be surprised if you noticed much atrophy after only one week off. Depending on how you've been training you may even find your lifts have improved a little when you get back to it.

Featherweight

Posted On:
    8/30/2009 12:49pm

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!