Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Featherweight

Posted On:
    8/27/2009 12:59pm

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Jimmy Pedro and Dr. Rhadi Ferguson On The New IJF Rules

(from http://judoforum.com/index.php?showtopic=39766)

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1IG4Au-3A0s[/youtube]
    YouTube - Jimmy Pedro and Rhadi Ferguson talk about new IJF Rules

The rules are what they are. I'm a coach. The rules are made and I play by the rules and come up with the best solutions oriented approach to get my clients/athletes in the best position to win as possible through my knowledge and resources.

When they removed groin strikes from MMA some complained, some got busy doing something new.

When the UFC removed knee strikes when someone is down on the ground, people found a way to use that to their advantage.

When the gripping rules changed, people adjusted.

Do I think its fair to spring this on some kids that have been training for 9 months for the Judo Worlds? Nope. I think it would have been good to mention, to test at some other national/domestic events around the world. Get some reports back and then prepare the world for the changes, but, I don't sit in the seat of the decision-maker. Here, I'm the dependent variable and I will govern myself accordingly.

I already know some new stuff to do and have been talking with some of the players from Mongolia and Armenia. I also got to meet with Khabarelli today. (a dream come true for a pickup guy).

Taraje and I are still shooting the Ugly Judo 102 DVD: Kataguruma.....and its derivatives. Which will be for Judo, BJJ and Sambo. There are about 30 different versions of Kataguruma that are like kuzure kataguruma that don't need the leg grabbed in order to finish the technique. Absolutely amazing stuff that I learned here and from Taraje's coach Arkadiy Aranov. Arkadiy said, "This rule changes nothing!" And for those in the know....it really doesn't.