Page 1 of 14 1 234511 ... LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    8/12/2009 9:34pm

Join us... or die
     Style: 剛 and 柔

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Bad Isshinryu, Less-Bad Isshinryu, How to Fix it.

This is something akin to an Isshinryu rant that I've been stewing over for a few months. There's a couple other threads where I tried to get my thoughts out and failed.

Let's start out with what Isshinryu is today, because that's the easy one. Most Isshinryu sucks. The sparring rules suck, the kata/bunkai/philosophy of waza sucks, and the virtually-useless 15 basics suck.

YouTube - Angelo isshinryu sparring 2

YouTube - Basic Exercises 1-15, Side View

If you're lucky, you'll do something akin to these partner exercises, which are useful for practicing ridiculous applications at something between 10% and 70% intensity.

YouTube - Isshinryu Shobu

Of course, no matter how hard or fast or accurately you practice that kind of sparring, those basics, or those partner exercises (or whatever minor variations), you won't be able to apply these techniques in any sort of real manner. I purposely used examples wherein the students are actually not awful for the crap they're doing. The students are doing what they're supposed to be doing fairly well. It's just that what they're supposed to be doing is stupid and useless.

If you're incredibly geographically lucky, the Isshinryu school you have in your town will do something fairly useful like these:
    YouTube - Isshinryu sparring - boxing, take downs & kobudo
    YouTube - Full Contact Karate Kumite Netherlands

But that's 1 in 100. Don't count on it.

So, what is Isshinryu? Why does it annoy me in its current incarnation? Well, look at what Isshinryu was created to be by Tatsuo.

0. Some mediocre theories. Almost all schools will pay lip service to them. If they're followed, OK. Often they're not.

One version of these principles is here. Comments in bold italics and also below.