Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/30/2009 3:02pm

Style: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Ambiguity in the use of the word "to train"

This is such a minor nit that I almost didn't post it, but for some reason it has been coming up a lot lately, maybe because I've been training more, and so I've used training as my reason for not doing other things with friends more often.

Whenever I tell people "I train Muay Thai," or "I train Jiu-Jitsu," especially when talking to people who don't train, they usually think I mean that I am a teacher of one of those martial arts. But among people I know who train, it is almost always used to mean that they "practice" such-and-such martial art, and that is the way I have been using the word.

For some reason though, saying "I practice Muay Thai" sounds douchy to me. Is it just me? For those of you who don't teach a martial art, but train in it, what do you tell your friends and family that you are doing when you are training?

Posted On:
    7/30/2009 3:02pm

Join us... or die
     Style: 剛 and 柔

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Never had that problem.
    What a disgrace it is for a man to grow old without ever seeing the beauty and strength of which his body is capable. -Xenophon's Socrates

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/30/2009 3:13pm

Style: Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I tell them I'm training. I've never, ever had any sort of confusion regarding that.

Posted On:
    7/30/2009 3:14pm

Style: Aikijujutsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I do x

Light Heavyweight

Posted On:
    7/30/2009 4:04pm

supporting member
     Style: Bartitsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Bahuyuddha View Post
    This is such a minor nit that I almost didn't post it, but for some reason it has been coming up a lot lately, maybe because I've been training more, and so I've used training as my reason for not doing other things with friends more often.