Posted On:
    7/19/2009 6:44am

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Which Martial Art - Eskrima?

Hi,

This is my first post here...

I'm in my mid thirties and based in London, and would like to start a Martial Art.

I was thinking of Eskrima/Kali as it seems to be more straightforward than some of the other MA's and less formal. I found two classes in London - can anyone provide me with some useful feedback?

http://www.dgdocepares.co.uk/
    http://www.rapidarnislondon.co.uk/

Thanks,

is a Godd*mn Federale!

Posted On:
    7/19/2009 10:06am

supporting member
     Style: Clinchology: Judo & MT

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Hi-

Maybe you should tell us what you're looking for in a martial art and why you're interested in Eskrima.

I'm not an Eskrima expert, but I trained with my local Doce Pares school for a bit. If you're looking specifically for a weapon-based art, I'd say Eskrima is awesome. If you buy the statement that what works with the stick/blade works with an empty hand, I'm not so sure. It very well might, but I think it would take a long time to develop. There are other arts that will get you good at striking much quicker and easier. I think there are some potentially cool applications of the triangular footwork for empty-handed striking, kind of along the lines of tai sabaki. But, like I said, I'm not an expert.

My local Doce Pares school also offered Yaw Yan kickboxing, which I thought was an interesting change of pace from Muay Thai, with both significant overlap, and some very interesting differences.

Rudy Reyes > Bear Grylls

Posted On:
    7/19/2009 4:47pm

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Thanks for the reply...

Looking for something with movement and striking/takedowns rather than something like BJJ. Was interested in Eskrima because of the suggestion that it teaches striking in a more straightforward way, and liked the triangular movement in kali - not really interested in weapons based at all.