223516 Bullies, 3890 online  
  • Register
Our Sponsors:

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
  1. --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Grappling X - BJJ black eye

Today I went to a tournament that I didn't actually compete in.

The tournament was held by grappling X, http://www.grapplingx.com , who I have had little experience with but from now on I will not have any, and hopefully neither do you.

I wrote a short article about the silly rulesets here: I elect we rename BJJ to "Mary and Nancy pick flowers." - Page 6 - No BS Martial Arts

Let's start from the beginning:

First off, when I heard about this tournament, I was pretty excited. I've always wanted to enter a PANKRATION tournament and felt I could do pretty well.

So I sign up for the tournament and pay for it via paypal. I even let a few of my judo friends know what's up so they can come play.

Fast forward to yesterday (17th). I didn't quite want to cut down to 145 as I'm still in training for my fight in August, so I just played at my walking weight of 155. So I went to my dad's office (it's a medical clinic) and weighed myself there yesterday morning at around 10ish, at 155lbs. Just to be safe I didn't eat anything or drink anything until the weigh-in times which were at 4pm. So I go over to my house before my GF picks me up and weigh myself, I come in at 155lbs. I get over to my GF's house and I suit up in some sweats and plastic wrap and drop down to 153-154 on her scale. I weight myself several times to make sure and recalibrate the scale and do it over and over.

I have her drive me over to the weigh-ins and I get there only to be greeted with, "What's your name? Have you paid?" and an electronic scale.