Featherweight

Posted On:
    7/16/2009 5:04am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: none

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Baranta

Baranta is the traditional Hungarian martial art. It's so obscure there isn't even a Wikipedia page for it. I know nothing about it.

Youtube has plenty of videos of people doing Baranta.

I have very little experience with martial arts. In the fall I will be in Penn State where I plan on attending this place where I will take their reality based mma class, which people on here have already said is a good idea, so I'm feeling good about that. I'll only be in Pennsylvania for the one semester, though, and if all goes according to plan I will be in Budapest, Hungary for the spring, so I thought, why not learn a Hungarian martial art?

Of course, I don't want to do that if it's a load of nonsense. So, does anyone here know if it's a load of nonsense? Any Hungarians here who can recommend me a school in Budapest?

And finally, completely unrelated to baranta but just me asking for advice, my plan was to diversify my training by taking a bunch of different martial arts, since I don't have any plans to be a professional fighter or the like-hence my taking the mma class, baranta, I started capoeira this summer but quit it because it was too silly even for me, and later I'll probably take Muay Thai and BJJ. Is that a good idea or really dumb?

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/16/2009 9:31am

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    It seems interesting. Its suppose to be a DUMagyar created martial art right?

Here are some of those vids you were talking about

YouTube - Baranta-Hungarian Traditional Martial Art

YouTube - Baranta - Pucskó Zsolt - Kurultaj 2008 - 2.

Featherweight

Posted On:
    7/17/2009 12:41am

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I have no idea what DUMagyar means.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/17/2009 8:23am

Style: sambo, stuff

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by bgaesop View Post