Posted On:
    7/15/2009 11:05pm

Business Class Supporting Member
     PDS Rifles Style: Univ. Florida Kickboxing

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Unique shin problem.. never had before

Hey guys
    I've been having this shin problem thats been keeping me from training.
    I've been running for several years for almost every day and I've never had this problem.
    If you run your hand down from your knee and where your shin starts, there is a bump right? Bump of bone. Its right above that. It feels like my bones are bruised or something but I really don't know what it is.

I have these tree trunk tough as nails legs and shins. I can kick the **** out any bag and be fine, and I'm that guy at the gym that you don't want to exchange leg kicks with. So its really annoying that I have this leg injury.

It started when I started adding sprints to my daily 3 mile run. Also, my shoes got old. (actually, its falling apart. Feburary or something I had replaced the soles in to extend its life and now its really beat up.)

About two months ago I started having this tingling feeling in my right upper shin. I didn't think much of it and I kept training on it. Very very slowly, it got worse.
    One day I pressed really hard on it with my thumb to isolate and massage the pain and felt more pain. I stopped running. Its been almost a month I stopped running, except two 1-mile jobs with my girlfriend and the dog.

Its not healing. In fact, it'd feel like its getting better and today it feels worse.

I think I need to stop training completely.
    Last time it got worse was when I was working with my boxing coach. 1.5 hour of pad drills focusing on footwork. And before that was after a hard sparring session. Before that was when I did a one mile run.

Yesterday I ran about 0.5 miles just to keep my legs used to running. I ran on the ball of my foot. I also did some footwork drills on my own.