Our Sponsors:

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    7/11/2009 11:06am

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Someone mind checking this school out...

I'll go ahead and share what I know of the school and the like so far. I could really use an outside look on the place.

Article Link: http://www.newsandtribune.com/archiv...013152913.html

(My apologizes on the long links, I'm not very good with HTML)

Ok, first off, the staff is very genuine in what they do. So if it ends up being a McDojo I have a feeling it's not intentional.

Some of the things mentioned as well as playing devils advocate on occasion:

Can potentionally earn your first deree black belt in 2 years. Each degree after that is about another 2 years each.

Students can and have failed belt testing, there was one who failed in my yellow belt class.

The test fee runs at $25.00, first black belt test fee is $100. The black belt is embroidered with your name and degree.

Monthly Contract fee (if you choose it) is 69.00 a month.

The Karate class is not pure Karate. It uses a lot of Karate, Boxing, TKD, and Judo. Or at least that's been my experience so far.

An example of the 30 minute class is such as follows:
    1st: You do the form. Kata I believe is the most common name for it.

2nd: You do 1-3 steps (depending on belt level).

3rd: Combinations, Boxing punches intermingled with kicks.

4th: Self-Defense Technique, usually some form of a takedown with a follow up grapple. One time it was a takedown into an classic armbar and another was a takedown into a different variation of an armbar. We've also had headlocks coupled into the takedown.

That is pretty much the extent of it.