Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Featherweight

Posted On:
    6/27/2009 2:33pm

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Low-Cost Dietary Plan?

I recently joined an MMA gym in my city, and I'm planning on going to classes 3 days a week, totaling about 5 hours a week. I'm running almost every day, and I'm trying to incorporate strength training into my weekly schedule. I seem to be on track to get into pretty good shape, but food has become my biggest bottleneck. I'm long, lanky, and I have a very high metabolism, and I've read that athletes of my body type need to consume around 3-4k calories a day, as well as 150-200 grams of protein. I also know that the ideal athletic eating schedule is 6 times a day. I'm also a college student, and I have no idea how I'm supposed to afford all of this food that I'll need to eat!

I've seen lots of great diets, both here and elsewhere, but most of them are either (a) expensive, or (b) require a lot of time for preparation and planning. Essentially, what I need are some relatively cheap, easy foods that I can buy in bulk and partition throughout the day. I'm not too picky, but I'm not a chef, and the simpler the better. I'm not a competitive athlete, and I'm already in reasonable shape, so I'm not too worried about eating a scientifically ideal diet... if I can shovel truckloads of it into my mouth without breaking the bank, I'm happy :) Examples of what I'm eating right now:

-Tuna salad (with eggs)
    -Lot of peanut butter
    -Trail mix (heavy on almonds)

I'd really appreciate any advice you guys can throw my way!

All Out of Bubblegum

Posted On:
    6/27/2009 4:35pm

supporting memberforum leader
     Style: MMA

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    eggs and milk are both cheap