Featherweight

Posted On:
    6/25/2009 3:15pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

How important are tournaments for BJJ?

I've been training in BJJ for a little over 5 years now, and I'm wondering how important to skill progression tournament competition is. Do you all feel that someone can go from white to black belt in bjj without ever competing in a tournament?

Registered Member

Posted On:
    6/25/2009 7:06pm

Style: Judo, BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Depends on what you want to do with it. If you're just training for **** and giggles then its fine, plus it'll take you forever if your instructor is legit.

Don't open a school with it, though.

I guess the real question is...what is keeping you from competing?

Posted On:
    6/25/2009 7:16pm

Join us... or die
     Style: 剛 and 柔

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by HailtotheKing View Post
    Don't open a school with it, though.
    This is actually the question I wished the OP had asked when I read the thread.

Do you think that a BJJ black belt can open a school without a whiz-bang, or at least mediocre, competition record? Why not?

Or is the question moot since most BJJ BBs won't give out a BB without the student taking part in competition....
    What a disgrace it is for a man to grow old without ever seeing the beauty and strength of which his body is capable. -Xenophon's Socrates

Registered Member

Posted On:
    6/25/2009 8:02pm

Style: diet

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    wrong forum, this is mma you want bjj. look down.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    6/25/2009 8:51pm

Style: Judo, BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Well, I don't think that one necessarily has to be a champ competitor to be a good coach (ala Vince Lombardi), but coaches need to know what it feels like to compete on the mat at least at a basic level. Exceptions may be for medical reasons, etc.

Yes, I am smarter than you are.

Posted On:
    6/25/2009 10:50pm