Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    6/02/2009 7:11pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: none yet

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

i'm not too sure about this...

so as my name implies, i'm relatively new to martial arts and very new to this site. before i moved out west i was taking dan zan ryu (sp?) juijitsu from a guy in buffalo ny. I loved the class, the workout, and almost all of the content seemed applicable (with practice) to an actual street fight. the guys i trained with were mostly cops and bouncers who had to use this training often to stay upright and/or alive.
    so i moved to portland or. on a whim and joined a Poekoelan Tjimindie Tulen school on another whim. some of it seemed kind of silly, but the workout was good and it seemed kind of realistic. but i caught myself saying more and more "i would never even try that after YEARS of practice".
    so i looked up some things and found this site. specifically i found a thread from a guy (i beleive named justin porter, could be wrong tho) claiming that it was worse than a mcdojo. i've gone and signed up for my first honest to god cult!!
    I was wondering if anyone can substantiate these claims. also if anyone has anything to add about the style, particularly in refference to the teaching style of Mas Goeroe Janesa, i would love some input.
    thanks for your time guys.

PS- if this is posted in the wrong place, my bad. i'm new.
    PPS- can anyone suggest a school in portland that won't break the bank, but doesn't suck?

Posted On:
    6/02/2009 10:39pm

Style: Pekiti, ARMA, other stuff

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    School have a website? Can you describe what sort of stuff you're actually doing?

Posted On:
    6/02/2009 10:39pm

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Also, in response to your PPS, Straight Blast Gym or team quest.

Heavyweight

Posted On:
    6/03/2009 9:25am

supporting member
     Style: Kyokushinkai / Kajukenbo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!